RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The gifted young people of the Friendswood High
- 2 School Campus Singers are performing for delighted listeners at the
- 3 State Capitol on January 26, 2009; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This remarkable ensemble is the varsity mixed choir
- 5 of Friendswood High School; its 68 members are drawn from the
- 6 sophomore, junior, and senior classes; the choir's rigorous
- 7 audition process includes sight-reading, a demonstrated
- 8 understanding of music theory, and a solo performance; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Campus Singers regularly participate in
- 10 University Interscholastic League competitions for varsity mixed,
- 11 men's, and women's choirs; in recent years, the choirs have been
- 12 consistent sweepstakes award recipients and have earned superior
- 13 rankings in concert performance and sight-reading from all UIL
- 14 judges; and
- WHEREAS, Singers from the group have also taken part in UIL
- 16 solo and ensemble competitions, as well as in district and regional
- 17 choir auditions of the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA);
- 18 the group has performed as a guest choir with the University of
- 19 Houston, Lamar University, and the Bay Area Chorus; and
- WHEREAS, In 2008, the Campus Singers were invited to perform
- 21 at the TMEA convention in San Antonio, where they were the only
- 22 mixed choir to perform in the Lila Cockrell Theatre; and
- 23 WHEREAS, These talented young Texans are a source of
- 24 tremendous pride for their school and their community, and it is

- 1 indeed a pleasure to welcome them to the State Capitol as they lift
- 2 their voices in song; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor the Friendswood High School Campus Singers
- 5 for their achievements and extend to them sincere best wishes for a
- 6 memorable and meaningful visit to the State Capitol; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the Friendswood High School Campus Singers as an
- 10 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Taylor

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 160 was adopted by the House on January 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House