H.R. No. 162

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a chronic and disabling
 disease of the central nervous system in which the progression,
 severity, and specific symptoms cannot be foreseen; and

WHEREAS, Every hour of every day, someone new is diagnosed with MS, a disease that can erode a person's abilities and hopes, halt a career, and unravel the fabric of families; and

7 WHEREAS, Last year in Texas, more than \$20 million was raised 8 to find the cure for MS and develop effective treatments for the 9 disease, as well as to provide a wide range of programs to improve 10 the lives of the more than 20,000 individuals living with MS in our 11 state; and

12 WHEREAS, This investment is paying off in significant 13 advances in treating MS, including new medications that may reduce 14 or delay future disability for people with MS; and

15 WHEREAS, While research advances have brought us closer to 16 finding the cure, much remains to be done, and services must 17 continue to be provided to those who live with the disease; and

18 WHEREAS, Public and private agencies are available to serve 19 the constantly changing needs of those living with MS in Texas and 20 their families, and it is imperative to extend the essential 21 services provided by these agencies to all in need; now, therefore, 22 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
 Legislature hereby recognize February 24, 2009, as Multiple

1

H.R. No. 162
1 Sclerosis Day at the State Capitol and March 2 through 9, 2009, as
2 Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Week in Texas and encourage every
3 effort to inform Texans about MS and MS services.

McClendon

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 162

H.R. No. 162

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 162 was adopted by the House on February 24, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House