RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, J. Allen Clemson of Arlington is retiring from his
- 2 position as administrator of the Dallas County Commissioners Court
- 3 on January 31, 2009, concluding a distinguished career in public
- 4 service that has spanned nearly 35 years; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Allen Clemson joined the Dallas County
- 6 Commissioners Court in October 1985, and as its chief of staff, he
- 7 served as the highest ranking nonelected administrative officer in
- 8 Dallas County; his tenure included a number of notable
- 9 accomplishments, including the development and implementation of a
- 10 salary classification plan and performance appraisal system, as
- 11 well as the implementation of a deferred compensation plan; and
- WHEREAS, Before joining the commissioners court, Mr. Clemson
- 13 served Dallas County as director of personnel and civil service
- 14 from 1979 to 1985, and brought to that position experience gained in
- 15 more than five years of service as assistant director of personnel
- 16 and civil service for Tarrant County; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Retirement will afford Mr. Clemson more time to
- 18 spend with his wife, Mollie, and his daughters, Cara and Lindsey, as
- 19 well as to indulge in his favorite leisure activity, golf; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Allen Clemson has served his fellow residents with
- 21 dedication, earning the lasting respect of those who have been
- 22 privileged to work with him, and it is a pleasure to honor him for
- 23 his service as he embarks on the next chapter of his life; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend J. Allen Clemson on his outstanding
- 3 tenure with the Dallas County Commissioners Court and extend to him
- 4 sincere best wishes for a rewarding retirement; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Clemson as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Jackson

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 165 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House