RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The retirement of Daniel M. Savage, Jr., at the end
- 2 of January 2009 brings to a close more than 35 years of
- 3 distinguished civic service; and
- WHEREAS, Dan Savage began his career in 1972 with the City of
- 5 Wichita Falls; three years later, he became assistant city manager
- 6 of Baytown, and later served as city manager of The Colony and
- 7 Duncanville; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In 1996, Mr. Savage joined the staff of the Dallas
- 9 County Commissioners Court, and during his tenure as assistant
- 10 administrator, he has overseen a number of notable projects,
- 11 including the restoration of the Old Red Courthouse, remodeling of
- 12 the Allen Courthouse, and construction of the Dallas County
- 13 Institute for Forensic Science and the south tower jail; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Mr. Savage has shared his expertise with the
- 15 International City Management Association and the Texas City
- 16 Management Association, and he has held several leadership
- 17 positions with the North Central Texas Council of Governments; he
- 18 has also served on the board of the Duncanville Chamber of Commerce,
- 19 Leadership Southwest, and the Duncanville Rotary Club; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Supported in all of his endeavors by his wife, Kathy
- 21 Shields, Dan Savage may reflect with pride on a career well spent,
- 22 and he is most deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby commend Dan Savage on his outstanding tenure
- 2 with the Dallas County Commissioners Court and extend to him
- 3 sincere best wishes for a happy retirement; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Savage as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Jackson

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Cohen Quintanilla Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Solomons Driver Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 166 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House