## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Association of Texas Professional
- 2 Educators (ATPE) are visiting the State Capitol on January 26,
- 3 2009; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This respected organization is the largest
- 5 independent educators' association in the nation; it is owned and
- 6 governed by a membership of more than 112,000 people, including
- 7 classroom teachers, administrators, paraprofessionals, school
- 8 support staff, college students and teacher trainees, retired
- 9 educators, and other concerned citizens; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Committed to supporting quality public education
- 11 and the rights and responsibilities of those employed in their
- 12 profession, the men and women of ATPE strive to be effective,
- 13 proactive leaders in their chosen career field; and
- 14 WHEREAS, ATPE encourages its members to be politically active
- 15 and to foster interaction with local legislators about current
- 16 education-related issues and concerns; and
- WHEREAS, Designed to facilitate direct communication between
- 18 lawmakers and educators, ATPE Day engages members of the education
- 19 community in the legislative process through political involvement
- 20 training and visits to the State Capitol; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize January 26, 2009, as Association of
- 23 Texas Professional Educators Day at the State Capitol and extend to
- 24 ATPE officers and members of the delegation sincere best wishes for

- 1 an enjoyable and productive visit to Austin; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Patrick

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 167 was adopted by the House on January 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House