RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Robert Mark Spears has distinguished himself 2 through his notable service to the Denton County Sheriff's Office;

3 and

11

WHEREAS, Mark Spears began his law enforcement career in 1984

5 as a jailer for the Dallas County Sheriff's Office; he went on to

6 hold various positions, including patrol supervisor, narcotics

7 investigator, and CID supervisor with both Dallas and Parker

8 Counties; in 1994, he joined the Rockwall County Sheriff's Office

9 and built a solid reputation as a highway interdiction agent; and

10 WHEREAS, Since March 2008, Deputy Spears has been a dedicated

member of the Denton County Sheriff's Office; for five months, he

12 worked on an undercover investigation conducted by the department

13 and federal authorities, and he proved instrumental to the success

14 of the operation; his intuition, bravery, and quick responses

15 helped secure the apprehension of seven drug dealers who were

16 subsequently charged with bribery, money laundering, and criminal

17 conspiracy; and

18 WHEREAS, Deputy Spears demonstrated great skill and

19 professionalism while engaged in a potentially dangerous endeavor,

20 and in so doing, he has made a significant contribution to the

21 safety and security of Denton County residents; now, therefore, be

22 it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

24 Legislature hereby commend Robert Mark Spears for his outstanding

- 1 efforts as a Denton County deputy sheriff and extend to him sincere
- 2 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Deputy Spears as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Crownover Solomons Parker

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Solomons Driver Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 168 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House