## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, James Vincent Morrison III of Spring has attained
- 2 the rank of private first class in the United States Marine Corps;
- 3 and
- 4 WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan has demonstrated
- 5 unwavering determination in achieving his goals; he earned his
- 6 Eagle Scout badge and enlisted in the marine corps before receiving
- 7 his diploma from Spring High School in May 2008; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Private Morrison graduated from Marine Corps
- 9 Recruit Depot San Diego on January 23, 2009; he will be continuing
- 10 his marine corps career while studying aviation electronics at
- 11 Naval Air Station Pensacola in Warrington, Florida; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In addition to the rifle sharpshooter badge and the
- 13 marine corps tan belt in martial arts, Private Morrison has been
- 14 awarded the National Defense Service Medal; and
- WHEREAS, Private Morrison is the son of Sheila and James
- 16 Morrison and the grandson of Caroline and Belton Blain and Gail and
- 17 Ken Morrison, who take great pride in all of his accomplishments;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through his devotion to duty, honor, and this
- 20 country, Private Morrison embodies the highest values of the United
- 21 States Marine Corps, and he is deserving of his fellow citizens'
- 22 deep respect and appreciation; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate James Vincent Morrison III on his

- 1 promotion to the rank of private first class in the United States
- 2 Marine Corps and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 3 success in all of his endeavors; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Private Morrison as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Riddle

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 170 was adopted by the House on January 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House