## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Civic leaders from Hardin, Jasper, Newton, and Tyler 2 Counties are gathering in Austin to celebrate Southeast Texas Days

3 at the State Capitol from January 25 through 27, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Home to scenic waterways and the dense forest known

5 as the Big Thicket, this unique region of the Lone Star State is one

of the most biologically diverse areas in the world, with 85 species

7 of trees, approximately 1,000 species of flowering plants, and more

8 than 180 varieties of birds; and

6

11

14

9 WHEREAS, The history of this verdant region is equally rich,

10 a saga stretching from the days when Atakapa, Caddo, and

Alabama-Coushatta hunted bear amid the pines and cypress, through

12 the rise of the lumber industry in the late 1800s and the oil boom of

13 the early 20th century; today, Southeast Texas is home to many

friendly, forward-looking communities that are building an even

15 brighter future on the foundation laid by those who came before; and

16 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of the Lumberton, Silsbee, and

17 Kountze Chambers of Commerce and economic development

18 corporations, Hardin County is encouraging business growth and

19 diversifying its economy to encompass manufacturing, agriculture,

20 and tourism; in addition to the many new residents who have made

21 their homes here in recent years, the county draws a host of

22 visitors who come especially to hike and go birding in the Big

23 Thicket National Preserve and to enjoy the exciting annual

24 MusicFest; and

H.R. No. 171 WHEREAS, Timber and oil undergird the economy of Jasper 1 County, where the fine opportunities for fishing and boating on 2 3 Lake Sam Rayburn and B. A. Steinhagen Lake lure vacationers from across the state; the Jasper/Lake Sam Rayburn Area Chamber of 4 5 Commerce is working to expand the county's business resources, while the Jasper Economic Development Corporation has created a 6 500-acre industrial park adjacent to a county-owned airport with a 7 8 mile-long runway; in the southern part of the county, the Buna Chamber of Commerce welcomes everyone to the "small town with a big 9 heart"; and 10 WHEREAS, Picturesque Newton County, with its forested hills 11 and valleys, offers residents and visitors alike fine boating, 12 fishing, hiking, and birding at Toledo Bend Reservoir and Wild 13 14 Azalea Canyons; the Newton Economic and Community Development 15 Corporations are providing recently established and longtime businesses with vital support, and the Newton County Chamber of

16 businesses with vital support, and the Newton County Chamber of 17 Commerce has led in renovating the courthouse square and upgrading

18 the county's fiber-optic network; and

WHEREAS, Tyler County is a prime destination for hikers, 19 boaters, birders, and fishermen, with two state parks and access to 20 B. A. Steinhagen Lake and sections of the Big Thicket National 21 Preserve; in the spring, Woodville, the county seat, hosts the 22 23 popular Tyler County Dogwood Festival, which includes the Festival 24 of the Arts and the Western Weekend rodeo and dance; among its other endeavors, the Tyler County Chamber of Commerce is engaged in 25 26 promoting the county to those who are looking for a desirable place to retire; and 27

H.R. No. 171

- 1 WHEREAS, Conveniently close to Beaumont and Houston and
- 2 blessed with great natural beauty and abundant resources, the
- 3 counties of Hardin, Jasper, Newton, and Tyler make up a distinctive
- 4 region of the Lone Star State, and their hardworking citizens can
- 5 take great pride in their heritage, achievements, and enterprising
- 6 spirit; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize January 25 through 27, 2009, as
- 9 Southeast Texas Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
- 10 delegation sincere best wishes for a memorable and meaningful stay
- 11 in Austin.

Hamilton

## H.R. No. 171

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H.R. No. 171

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 171 was adopted by the House on January 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House