RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 recognize January 28, 2009, as Texas Society of Certified Public
- 3 Accountants Day at the Capitol and to honor the certified public
- 4 accountants who are visiting the Capitol today; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants is
- 6 a nonprofit, voluntary professional organization representing
- 7 28,000 members in 20 local chapters situated across the state; and
- 8 WHEREAS, This outstanding organization offers numerous
- 9 services and programs to its members and to those seeking to enter
- 10 the field of accountancy; the Accounting Education Foundation
- 11 provides financial assistance to students, and the Peer Review
- 12 Program and hundreds of continuing education programs keep members
- 13 up to date on the latest accounting practices and ethics
- 14 requirements; and
- WHEREAS, The society has created a nonpartisan political
- 16 action committee to work with the members of the Texas Legislature;
- 17 it meets regularly with the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
- 18 and stays informed of proposed tax legislation to better understand
- 19 the impact on the Texas economy; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants
- 21 contributes greatly to the economic vitality of our state, and it is
- 22 justly deserving of recognition for its many accomplishments; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize January 28, 2009, as Texas Society of
- 2 Certified Public Accountants Day at the State Capitol and commend
- 3 the organization's members for their dedication to serving the
- 4 public interest; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants as
- 7 an expression of esteem by the Texas House of Representatives.

Morrison Otto Isett Button Eissler

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 173 was adopted by the House on January 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House