## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Collin County lost an admired leader
- 2 and dedicated public servant with the death of Jack Hatchell on
- 3 June 28, 2008, at the age of 70; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Hatchell graduated from Texas A&M University,
- 5 where he earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in civil
- 6 engineering, and went on to work as a transportation engineer; long
- 7 dedicated to his community, he served on the Plano City Council from
- 8 1975 to 1985, and the following year he was elected Collin County
- 9 commissioner for Precinct 4; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Throughout his five terms in that position,
- 11 Mr. Hatchell was an effective advocate for his constituents and
- 12 brought commissioners together to achieve positive results for the
- 13 community; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In addition to playing a vital role in the
- 15 development of such major roadway projects as the President George
- 16 Bush Turnpike and the Dallas North Tollway extensions, he worked to
- 17 avoid county tax rate increases during the past decade, supported a
- 18 tax freeze for senior citizens, and helped to develop parks and
- 19 trails; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Hatchell received numerous accolades, among
- 21 them the 2005 Road Hand Award from the Texas Department of
- 22 Transportation and the William J. Pitstick Regional Excellence
- 23 Award from the North Central Texas Council of Governments; the
- 24 highest honor bestowed by the organization, the award recognized

- 1 his distinguished career in government and his leadership on
- 2 transportation issues; and
- 3 WHEREAS, While fulfilling the demands of his office,
- 4 Mr. Hatchell also shared his time and expertise with the Regional
- 5 Transportation Commission as a member and chairman; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Jack Hatchell served the residents of Collin County
- 7 with integrity and an unwavering devotion to the greater good; he
- 8 set a high standard for future leaders, and the programs that he
- 9 established will continue to benefit area Texans for years to come;
- 10 now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Collin County
- 13 Commissioner Jack Hatchell and extend sincere sympathy to the
- 14 members of his family: to his wife of 47 years, Pat; to his
- 15 daughters, Amy Briggs and Beth Jamison; to his grandson, Jack
- 16 Jamison; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it
- 17 further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 20 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jack
- 21 Hatchell.

Madden McCall Laubenberg Paxton

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 174 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House