H.R. No. 176

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of St. Paul Missionary Baptist Church in 2 Houston gathered on January 18, 2009, to commemorate the 25th 3 anniversary of Dr. Louis C. Sidney, Sr., as pastor of their 4 congregation and to extend appreciation to Dr. Sidney and his wife, 5 Darlene, for their continued service; and

6 WHEREAS, Born in Houston in 1952 to Elijah and Burlee Sidney, 7 Louis Charles Sidney answered the call to the ministry more than 8 three decades ago; he holds a bachelor of theology degree from the 9 Conroe Normal and Real Bible Seminary and a doctor of divinity 10 degree from the Inter-Baptist Theological Center; and

11 WHEREAS, Mrs. Sidney was raised in Chattanooga, Tennessee, 12 and graduated from Tennessee State University in Nashville; she 13 relocated to the Bayou City after retiring from the Hamilton County 14 Juvenile Court as a juvenile probation officer; Dr. and Mrs. Sidney 15 met at St. Paul MBC and were joined in matrimony on December 4, 16 2004; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, this esteemed couple have been 17 18 affiliated with numerous organizations; Dr. Sidney has served as dean of the Progressive Peaceful Union District Association and as 19 a member of the Northeast Ministerial Council, the Northeast Harris 20 21 County Christian Ministers Alliance, the New Progressive Civic Club of Settegast, and the citizen advisory board for the Harris County 22 23 Precinct 3 Constable's Office; Mrs. Sidney was formerly a member of the Chattanooga Choral Society for the Preservation of African 24

1

American Song and the board of directors of Hope Unlimited
Ministries; and

3 WHEREAS, Actively engaged in the community, Dr. Sidney has 4 sought to help the hungry, the hurting, and the outcast, to foster 5 harmonious relations among local residents, and to make the area a 6 better place for both children and senior citizens; he and 7 Mrs. Sidney also gave generously of their time and energies to the 8 Katrina relief effort; and

9 WHEREAS, Through their compassion and goodwill, Pastor and 10 Mrs. Sidney have enhanced the lives of countless individuals, and 11 in so doing, they have won the esteem and affection of their 12 congregation and the community at large; now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 14 Legislature hereby commend Dr. Louis C. Sidney, Sr., and Darlene 15 Sidney for their dedicated service to St. Paul Missionary Baptist 16 Church and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued 17 happiness; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for Dr. and Mrs. Sidney as an expression of high regard by 20 the Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 176

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 176

3

H.R. No. 176

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 176 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House