RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family and friends are mourning the loss of Ronald 2 Charles McPherson of Houston, who died on December 29, 2008; and 3 WHEREAS, Possessed of an abiding passion for politics, Mr. McPherson was actively involved in the Harris County Democratic 4 5 Party, volunteering weekly for the organization and serving as precinct judge and precinct chair for Precinct 380; he also held an 6 7 appointment to the Harris County Appraisal Review Board, and during his time in California he served as a member of the Santa Clara 8 County Grand Jury and cofounded the county's Black Chamber of 9 10 Commerce; and

WHEREAS, This caring gentleman was strong in his faith, and he was a devoted husband to his wife, Shirley, with whom he shared a rewarding union of nearly 50 years; Ronald McPherson was a true blessing to all those who were fortunate enough to share in his love and friendship, and he will long be remembered with great affection and admiration; now, therefore, be it

11

12

13

14

15

16

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Ronald Charles 18 McPherson and extend sincere condolences to the members of his 19 family: to his wife, Shirley McPherson; to his children and their 20 21 spouses, Eric and Ruth McPherson, Derek and Connie McPherson, Kevin 22 and Dimati McPherson, and Shironda and Marcus Culpepper; to his 23 eight grandchildren and his great-grandchild; to mother-in-law, Ora Bailey; to his two brothers; and to his other 24

- 1 relatives and many friends; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Ronald
- 5 Charles McPherson.

Dutton

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 177 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House