## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Community leaders of Eagle Pass and Maverick County
- 2 are gathering at the State Capitol on January 29, 2009, to celebrate
- 3 the historical and economic importance of their region and to
- 4 discuss with members of the legislature issues of great
- 5 significance to area citizens; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Named for cattleman and state legislator Samuel
- 7 Maverick, the county was established in 1856, and the city of Eagle
- 8 Pass was incorporated in 1910; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The citizens of Maverick County and Eagle Pass have
- 10 demonstrated a commitment to working together to create jobs,
- 11 motivate youth, and continuously improve the quality of life in the
- 12 area through such initiatives as the construction of a sports and
- 13 arts complex and a civic/international trade center; moreover, a
- 14 jail facility has been constructed to further enhance public
- 15 safety; and
- 16 WHEREAS, County and civic leaders are also dedicated to
- 17 ensuring the effective collaboration of the public and private
- 18 sectors and to administering an economic development plan to
- 19 attract and retain quality businesses, industries, trade, and
- 20 housing that are accessible to all residents; and
- 21 WHEREAS, With three international bridges, including one
- 22 rail bridge, Eagle Pass and Maverick County have become an
- 23 important port of entry to the bustling state of Coahuila, Mexico,
- 24 and the route of choice for many American tourists crossing the

- 1 border, and the area offers a variety of entertainment and
- 2 recreational opportunities to visitors; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The citizens of Eagle Pass and Maverick County may
- 4 take justifiable pride in the region's rich history, and the
- 5 members of the house are pleased to acknowledge and applaud the
- 6 ongoing commitment and collaboration of the area's civic leaders,
- 7 corporate citizens, and residents; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby recognize January 29, 2009, as Eagle
- 10 Pass-Maverick County Day and extend to the visiting delegation best
- 11 wishes for a productive and memorable trip to the State Capitol.

King of Zavala

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 179 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House