RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Nurse anesthetists were the first professional
- 2 health care workers to provide anesthesia in the United States, and
- 3 they compose the oldest recognized group of advanced-practice
- 4 registered nurse specialists in this country; and
- 5 WHEREAS, These registered nurses have completed a rigorous,
- 6 graduate-level course of academic and clinical study in a
- 7 nationally accredited program of nurse anesthesia; following
- 8 graduation, they are qualified to take the national certifying
- 9 examination; and
- 10 WHEREAS, All graduates of nurse anesthesia educational
- 11 programs receive a master's degree, and those who successfully pass
- 12 the certifying exam may use the title certified registered nurse
- 13 anesthetist (CRNA); and
- 14 WHEREAS, According to the American Association of Nurse
- 15 Anesthetists, more than 65 percent of all rural hospitals rely on
- 16 CRNAs to provide anesthesia care; without these advanced-practice
- 17 nurses, some 1,500 facilities would be unable to maintain trauma
- 18 stabilization, surgical, and obstetrical capabilities, a
- 19 circumstance that would force many rural Americans to travel long
- 20 distances to obtain such services; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Each year, CRNAs working in hospitals, ambulatory
- 22 surgical centers, physicians' offices, and medical facilities of
- 23 the U.S. military, Department of Veterans Affairs, and Public
- 24 Health Service are the hands-on providers of approximately 65

- 1 percent of all anesthetics given to patients in the United States,
- 2 and in rural communities the percentage is even higher; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The delivery of health care in this country is
- 4 dependent, in large measure, on the work of certified registered
- 5 nurse anesthetists, and it is indeed fitting that they be honored
- 6 for the crucial role that they fulfill; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize January 26-31, 2009, as Nurse
- 9 Anesthetists Week in Texas and extend deep appreciation to all
- 10 certified registered nurse anesthetists for the great skill and
- 11 dedication they bring to their challenging vocation.

King of Taylor

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 184 was adopted by the House on January 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House