H.R. No. 191

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On January 29, 2009, proud residents of Hunt County 2 are visiting Austin on the occasion of Hunt County Day at the State 3 Capitol, presenting a fitting opportunity to celebrate that vibrant 4 region of the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, Located in the Blackland Prairie of northeastern 6 Texas, Hunt County was first inhabited by the Kiowa Indians; Anglo 7 settlers arrived in 1839, and the county was officially formed from 8 parts of Fannin and Nacogdoches Counties in 1846; with Greenville 9 as its seat, the county was named after Memucan Hunt, secretary of 10 the navy and minister to Washington under the Republic of Texas; and

11 WHEREAS, While the county's early economy depended mainly on 12 cotton, life changed dramatically after the Civil War; the arrival of the railroad in the mid-1870s was a catalyst for 11 communities 13 14 that sprang up around train depots, and by the early 20th century, Hunt County was home to the first municipally owned public 15 utilities in Texas and a number of industries centered around the 16 cotton trade, such as cotton-spinning mills, cotton compresses, and 17 a cottonseed-oil refinery; and 18

WHEREAS, Hunt County has continued to grow and today has more than 82,000 residents; its diverse economy now includes such industries as aircraft electronics and plastics distribution, and eight Fortune 500 companies have offices in Greenville; and

23 WHEREAS, The county is well served by two institutions of 24 higher learning, Texas A&M University--Commerce and the Greenville

1

H.R. No. 191

Center of Paris Junior College, and it is enriched by a number of 1 recreational and cultural attractions; picturesque Lake Tawakoni 2 State Park is a destination for boating, swimming, camping, and 3 hiking, the Mathews Prairie Nature Preserve, a 100-acre tract of 4 5 native prairie meadow that has never been plowed, is ideal for birders and wildflower enthusiasts, and the Audie Murphy/American 6 Cotton Museum commemorates the importance of cotton to the region 7 8 and celebrates the life of Hunt County native Audie Murphy, film star and the most decorated American soldier of World War II; and 9

10 WHEREAS, The citizens of Hunt County may take justifiable 11 pride in their community and know that it has contributed immensely 12 to the history and vitality of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby recognize January 29, 2009, as Hunt County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable stay in Austin.

Flynn

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 191

H.R. No. 191

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 191 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House