H.R. No. 194

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mansfield residents have much to be proud of as they 2 gather at the State Capitol on February 17, 2009, to celebrate the 3 history and progress of their thriving community; and

WHEREAS, Located in southeastern Tarrant 4 County and 5 northeastern Johnson County, Mansfield was settled following the establishment of a steam-powered gristmill in 1857; named for the 6 7 mill's proprietors, Ralph Man and Julian Feild, the town became a hub of flour and meal production during the Civil War; in 1870, the 8 Mansfield Male and Female College was founded and became one of the 9 state's most respected educational institutions before its closing 10 more than 15 years later; and 11

12 WHEREAS, Mansfield saw rapid growth in the latter half of the 20th century, transforming it from a rural community into a modern 13 suburb; home to major employers including Mouser Electronics, 14 Center, Methodist Mansfield Medical 15 and Simeus Foods International, the city continues to attract new residents with its 16 vibrant economy and abundant residential development; Mansfield 17 I.S.D., one of the fastest growing school districts in the state, is 18 expected to add six new campuses by 2011; and 19

20 WHEREAS, A prosperous and vital Metroplex suburb, Mansfield 21 is beloved for its small-town quality of life that makes it a 22 welcome place to raise a family, seek opportunity, and engage in 23 civic affairs; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 194
1 Legislature hereby recognize February 17, 2009, as Mansfield Day at
2 the Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to all those in
3 attendance for an enjoyable visit to Austin.

Pierson Turner of Tarrant

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 194

H.R. No. 194

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 194 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House