H.R. No. 196

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Samaritan Inn is celebrating 25 years of
- 2 compassionate service to Collin County's most vulnerable citizens
- 3 in 2009; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1984, the Samaritan Inn was the first
- 5 homeless shelter established in Collin County; in addition to
- 6 providing a place to sleep for men, women, and children in need, the
- 7 shelter offers individuals meals, clothes, and personal care items,
- 8 and it also has playrooms and a playground on site; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In an effort to help residents get back on their
- 10 feet, the Samaritan Inn employs experienced case managers who
- 11 develop individualized programs for people to achieve their
- 12 independence; referrals are made for legal and financial
- 13 counseling, and classes are offered in parenting, budgeting, and
- 14 job training; when ready to move out on their own, former residents
- 15 are equipped with vital skills and a host of necessary household
- 16 items; and
- WHEREAS, The Samaritan Inn provides both long- and short-term
- 18 refuge, and the facility housed nearly 700 people in 2008 alone; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Devoted to helping those less fortunate, the
- 20 Samaritan Inn has made a positive difference in the lives of
- 21 countless Collin County residents, and it is indeed fitting to
- 22 honor the organization for its many contributions to the greater
- 23 good; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 196

- 1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the Samaritan Inn for 25 years of
- 2 outstanding service to the people of Collin County and extend
- 3 sincere best wishes to all those associated with the shelter for
- 4 continued success with their important work; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Paxton

H.R. No. 196

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 196 was adopted by the House on February 2, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House