By: Dutton

H.R. No. 197

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Missouri City/Houston Metro chapter of the 2 National Women of Achievement, Incorporated, is honoring 16 Unsung 3 Heroes at its Silver Anniversary Celebration on January 31, 2009; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, NWOA is a service organization dedicated to youth, 6 women, and senior citizens; by promoting philanthropy, political 7 awareness, arts appreciation, and other outreach initiatives, its 8 members strive to make a positive impact in their communities; and

9 WHEREAS, The group is recognizing 16 individuals who have 10 demonstrated exceptional effort in serving their fellow citizens 11 and contributing to society as a whole; the Unsung Heroes are 12 actively involved in numerous activities, devoting both time and 13 resources to their service endeavors; these outstanding civic 14 leaders represent a variety of industries and backgrounds, but they 15 embody a common spirit of compassion and commitment; and

WHEREAS, This year's honorees include: Dr. Mary M. Addison,
Mrs. Carrie L. Allen, Mrs. Willie Belle Boone, Mrs. Gwendolyn
Branch, Dr. Bente Gage, Mrs. Barbara Lange, Mr. James Little, Dr.
Anna L. C. Mapp, Mr. LeRoy Mills, Jr., Dr. Sandy Murphy, Rev. Verna
Powers, Mrs. Ida Reed, Mrs. Katie Roberson, Mrs. Carolyn Simples,
Mrs. Dorothy Winn, and Mrs. Thessy N. Wachukwu; and

22 WHEREAS, By commending the Unsung Heroes for their enduring 23 commitment to community service, NWOA is encouraging others to 24 follow the powerful example of social responsibility set by these

1

H.R. No. 197

1 remarkable individuals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the 2009 honorees of the National Women of Achievement, Incorporated, Silver Anniversary Celebration on their selection as Unsung Heroes and extend to all those associated with this noteworthy organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the Missouri City/Houston Metro chapter of the 10 National Women of Achievement as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.