RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Amigos Del Valle, Incorporated, are
- 2 visiting the State Capitol on February 10, 2009, in celebration of
- 3 Senior Day; and
- 4 WHEREAS, A consortium of county and city governmental
- 5 entities, Amigos Del Valle provides nutrition, transportation, and
- 6 housing services to senior citizens and low-income families in
- 7 Cameron, Hidalgo, and Willacy Counties; the organization aims to
- 8 secure safe, decent, and affordable housing for those in need and to
- 9 help them live healthy, productive, and self-sufficient lives; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Amigos Del Valle was established in 1974 with an
- 11 operating budget of \$375,000; since that time, thousands of senior
- 12 citizens have benefited from its services, and today the agency's
- 13 annual budget has increased to nearly \$7 million; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Recognized for its outstanding efforts, the group
- 15 has earned accolades from the National Council of La Raza, the
- 16 Southwest Society on Aging, and Hispanic Business Magazine; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Texas senior citizens have devoted their lives to
- 18 making this state a better place in which to live, work, and raise a
- 19 family; by working to improve the quality of life for senior
- 20 citizens in the Rio Grande Valley, Amigos Del Valle is helping to
- 21 accord them the opportunities and respect they so richly deserve;
- 22 now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby welcome members of Amigos Del Valle,

- 1 Incorporated, to the State Capitol for Senior Day on February 10,
- 2 2009, and commend them for their contributions to residents of the
- 3 Rio Grande Valley; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Pena Gonzales Flores

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Miklos Alonzo Giddings Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 201 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House