RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Celina High School Bobcats captured the
- 2 University Interscholastic League 3A Division 2 state football
- 3 championship on December 22, 2007, with a victory over China Spring
- 4 High School in the title game; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A battle-tested gridiron powerhouse, the Celina
- 6 Bobcats won all 16 games they played in 2007; seven of their
- 7 victories came by 40 points or more, including a 62-13 defeat of
- 8 Prosper and 62-0 triumph over Van Alstyne; the 21-14 clincher
- 9 against China Spring in the state finals was the only time all
- 10 season that the Bobcats won by less than 13 points; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The 2007 championship game marked the seventh time
- 12 in 10 years that Celina has played for the crown; moreover, the
- 13 Bobcats' victory brought their school its eighth state football
- 14 title, which set a new record for the most total championships;
- 15 Celina's record of excellence stretches back to the mid-1970s, and
- 16 the community has come to symbolize the Lone Star State's passion
- 17 for high school football, a status documented in the 2004 film
- 18 Power, Passion, & Glory: The Real Story of Texas Football Madness;
- 19 and
- WHEREAS, Under the leadership of head coach Butch Ford, Jr.,
- 21 the outstanding student athletes on the 2007 Celina roster have
- 22 furthered their team's reputation as one of the best in the history
- 23 of Texas high school football, and they may take justifiable pride
- 24 in their exceptional achievements; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Celina High School Bobcats
- 3 football team on winning the UIL 3A Division 2 state championship
- 4 for 2007 and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 success; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Laubenberg Paxton

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 208 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House