## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Cardiovascular diseases claim the lives of nearly
- 2 455,000 women each year, more than the next five leading causes of
- 3 death combined, including all forms of cancer; and
- 4 WHEREAS, While only 21 percent of women consider
- 5 cardiovascular disease their greatest health risk, some 53 percent
- 6 of cardiovascular disease deaths and more than 60 percent of stroke
- 7 deaths occur in females; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In 2008, the direct and indirect cost of treating
- 9 heart attacks, strokes, and other related illnesses in the United
- 10 States was estimated at \$475.3 billion; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The American Heart Association has designated
- 12 February as American Heart Month, and as part of the effort to raise
- 13 awareness about heart disease and stroke, the Go Red For Women
- 14 campaign works to change the perception that heart disease occurs
- only in men; moreover, the campaign encourages women to learn their
- 16 own personal risk for coronary disease by using such tools as the
- 17 American Heart Association's Go Red For Women Heart CheckUp and by
- 18 talking to their health care providers; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Go Red For Women serves as a powerful reminder that
- 20 by taking charge of their heart health women can live stronger,
- 21 longer lives; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize February 6, 2009, as National Wear Red
- 24 Day and encourage all Texans to show their support for women and the

1 fight against heart disease by wearing the color red.

Crownover Gonzales Harless

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 219 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House