By: Castro

H.R. No. 221

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Delegates from the American Council of Young 2 Political Leaders are visiting the State Capitol on February 2, 3 2009, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to honor the 4 council for its efforts to promote cultural understanding among the 5 world's future policy makers; and

6 WHEREAS, A nonprofit, educational exchange organization, 7 ACYPL cultivates lasting political, economic, and cultural relationships between young leaders through educational forums, 8 9 foreign policy and democracy conferences, election study programs, 10 and leadership training; this bipartisan group introduces rising politicians to international affairs and issues, while encouraging 11 12 mutual respect and friendship; since 1966, ACYPL has conducted exchanges in 20-25 countries around the world, and it has alumni in 13 14 more than 90 nations; and

WHEREAS, Council delegates are selected based on their 15 16 current leadership roles and potential for future achievement; during the program, they tour several cities that highlight the 17 cultural, geographic, economic, and political diversity of the host 18 country, and they gain unique access to its decision-making 19 processes and electoral dynamics; they also meet numerous 20 government officials and corporate and community leaders; this 21 interaction provides a platform for exploring common concerns and 22 23 points of difference, debating ideas, and sharing experiences, and the participants emerge with enhanced leadership and public 24

1

H.R. No. 221

1 diplomacy skills; and

WHEREAS, The diverse group of delegates who are visiting 2 3 Texas represent various municipal, regional, and national government entities and multiple political parties, while others 4 5 are involved in such fields as economic development, journalism, and campaign management; the delegation from Argentina includes 6 Fernando De Andreis, Mario Joaquin Losada, Carolina Marsella, 7 8 Matias Alejandro Mendez, Alejandro Ramos, and Javier Van Houtte, and the delegation from Uruguay includes Sebastian Cervino Delgado, 9 10 Matias Rodriguez, Marcelo Debernardi Caponi, Diego Pazos Rosado, Juan Martin Jorge, and Maria Alejandra Romeo Rondan; and 11

WHEREAS, The ACYPL is dedicated to fostering relationships among promising young individuals throughout the world, and it is indeed a pleasure to welcome members of the next generation of international political leaders to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 18 Legislature hereby commend the American Council of Young Political 19 Leaders for its contributions to education and diplomacy around the 20 world and extend to the delegations from Argentina and Uruguay 21 sincere best wishes for a memorable visit; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the council as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2