RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The congregation of the First United Methodist
- 2 Church of Donna is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the
- 3 church's founding in February 2009, and this joyous event is
- 4 certain to be a memorable occasion for all concerned; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The First United Methodist Church of Donna was
- 6 organized in February 1909; its first pastor, the Reverend C. W.
- 7 Goodwyn, also had the responsibility of shepherding the McAllen
- 8 congregation of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In 1918, the Reverend O. C. Crow assumed the pulpit
- 10 of the Donna church; under his direction, membership grew from 20
- 11 parishioners to several hundred; this exceeded the capacity of the
- 12 church's modest wood frame building, which resulted in services and
- 13 Sunday school classes being held in the Donna High School
- 14 auditorium until an addition could be erected; today's church home,
- 15 constructed in 1951, features stained glass windows, a prominent
- 16 steeple, and sufficient room to meet the myriad needs of a thriving
- 17 congregation; and
- WHEREAS, Since its inception, First United Methodist Church
- 19 has remained a haven of strength, comfort, and inspiration for
- 20 residents of the Rio Grande Valley, and its continued existence is a
- 21 tribute to the unwavering commitment of its members, both past and
- 22 present; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate all those affiliated with the First

- 1 United Methodist Church of Donna on the occasion of its 100th
- 2 anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future;
- 3 and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Martinez

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 222 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House