RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For the past 35 years Camp Okawehna has provided a

2 memorable summer camp experience to countless children who are

3 facing chronic kidney disease; and

WHEREAS, More than 7,000 children have been diagnosed with

5 chronic kidney disease in the United States since 1994, and

6 approximately half of these children require dialysis or kidney

7 transplants as the illness progresses; Dialysis Clinic, Inc., a

8 nonprofit organization that operates facilities throughout the

9 country, established Camp Okawehna in 1974 as a summer camp for

10 children with this serious condition; and

11 WHEREAS, This full-service camp is held annually during the

12 first full week of June at the Cedar Crest Campground near

13 Nashville, Tennessee; Camp Okawehna features onsite medical

14 facilities and is open to children ages 6 to 18 who have kidney

15 disease, as well as those who have had transplants or are undergoing

16 dialysis therapy; although at least 90 percent of these young

17 patients are able to participate fully in sports and other physical

18 activities, they often maintain rigid daily schedules, and Camp

19 Okawehna offers them a welcome respite in a fun-filled atmosphere;

20 and

21 WHEREAS, Campers spend their time playing basketball or

22 soccer, swimming, canoeing, or engaging in ropes courses and

23 scavenger hunts; the children also enjoy arts and crafts projects,

24 dances, and bonfires, and they can relax in the company of others

- 1 who have had similar experiences with chronic kidney disease; what
- 2 began with 15 campers in its first year has grown to accommodate
- 3 more than 110 children from all over the country, along with 80
- 4 staff volunteers; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The cost of attending Camp Okawehna is largely
- 6 underwritten by Dialysis Clinic, Inc.; this notable organization
- 7 also administers the treatment of children from the Lone Star State
- 8 at its Austin facility, the Children's Dialysis Clinic of Central
- 9 Texas, and in 2009, DCI is hosting the following young Texans at
- 10 Camp Okawehna: Austin Booth, Avonna James, Aaron Stevenson, Sandra
- 11 Rodriguez, Oscar Rangel, Mitchell Vanderwoude, Max Schultz, Isaac
- 12 Botello, Romeena Momin, and Lonnie Wren; and
- WHEREAS, Camp Okawehna has demonstrated an unwavering
- 14 commitment to children with chronic kidney disease, and its campers
- 15 have benefited in myriad ways from this noteworthy institution;
- 16 now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby commend Camp Okawehna for its invaluable service
- 19 to children coping with chronic kidney disease and extend to all
- 20 those associated with the camp sincere best wishes for continued
- 21 success with this worthy endeavor; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for Camp Okawehna as an expression of high regard by the
- 24 Texas House of Representatives.

Kuempel

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Callegari Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 227 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House