H.R. No. 229

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of the city of McAllen are gathering at 2 the State Capitol on February 10, 2009, to celebrate their 3 community's contributions to the vitality of the Lone Star State; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Located in southern Hidalgo County, the site of 6 present-day McAllen was developed by Spanish settler Jose Manuel 7 Gomez, who founded the Santa Anita Ranch in 1797; the ranch grew in 8 size and passed through the hands of several heirs of his 9 great-granddaughter, Salome Balli, who married John McAllen; 10 together they continued to add to the property and renamed it 11 McAllen Ranch; and

12 WHEREAS, In 1904, Mr. McAllen and other early settlers 13 established a town site called West McAllen, where the St. Louis, 14 Brownsville & Mexico Railroad arrived a year later; additional 15 developers founded East McAllen in 1907, and the two towns 16 eventually merged and welcomed several businesses, churches, and 17 residences and a newspaper; by 1920, the city's population exceeded 18 5,000 and continued to grow steadily; and

WHEREAS, In the last three decades, McAllen has become a center for business, commerce, and government in the Valley; ranked number one in the nation in job growth in 2008, McAllen has the strongest housing market in the country, according to *Forbes* magazine, and it was named the number-one fastest-growing real estate market in the country by CNNMoney.com; in addition, the city

1

1 is home to South Texas College, one of the fastest-growing
2 community colleges in the nation; and

H.R. No. 229

3 WHEREAS, The unique landscape of the Rio Grande Valley 4 provides promising soil for farming and produces a hospitable 5 environment for cultivating citrus fruits, cotton, sugarcane, and 6 many other crops and vegetables; a variety of ecosystems also 7 nurtures many unusual flora and fauna specific to this region of the 8 country; and

WHEREAS, A center for cultural activities, McAllen is home to 9 10 the International Museum of Art and Science, which serves as a showcase for traveling exhibitors, loaned works from the 11 Smithsonian Institution, and an extensive collection of Latin 12 American folk art; tourists and residents alike enjoy festive 13 14 annual events, including the Candlelight Posada, the Fourth of July 15 Celebration and Parade, Palmfest Fajita Cook-off, International Friendship Run, and McAllen New Year's Eve Celebration; and 16

17 WHEREAS, Led by Mayor Richard Cortez, District 1 Council Member Scott Crane, District 2 Council Member Marcus Barrera, 18 19 District 3 Council Member Hilda Salinas, District 4 Council Member Aida Ramirez, District 5 Council Member John Ingram, and District 6 20 Council Member James "Jim" Darling, the citizens of McAllen are 21 justifiably proud of their city, which has played a significant 22 23 role in the annals of Texas history, and it is a pleasure to pay 24 tribute to them on this special day; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 10, 2009, as McAllen Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those McAllen residents who are

2

H.R. No. 229 1 present on this day sincere best wishes for a memorable visit to 2 Austin.

> Gonzales Pena Flores

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 229

H.R. No. 229

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 229 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House