H.R. No. 231

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Community colleges play an increasingly important
- 2 role in higher education in the Lone Star State, and on February 4,
- 3 2009, a delegation of more than 1,000 community college students
- 4 are gathering at the State Capitol for Community College Student
- 5 Day; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Leaders of the Texas Junior College Student
- 7 Government Association, including President Shane Scott, are being
- 8 joined by community college honors students, community college
- 9 trustees, and members of the Texas Association of Community
- 10 Colleges to discuss the essential contributions their schools make
- 11 to the state; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The total annual enrollment for Texas community and
- 13 technical colleges exceeds one million students, accounting for
- 14 approximately half of the state's postsecondary student population
- 15 and making up the largest sector of higher education; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The community colleges of Texas serve a vital
- 17 function in the educational and economic development of the state,
- 18 and it is a pleasure to welcome these outstanding students,
- 19 teachers, and administrators to Austin; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby recognize February 4, 2009, as Community College
- 22 Student Day at the State Capitol and extend to all participants best
- 23 wishes for a memorable and productive visit.

Branch Herrero Bonnen Morrison

H.R. No. 231

Gattis Straus Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Anderson Guillen Moody Aycock Gutierrez Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Hardcastle Bolton Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Harper-Brown Branch Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Pierson Chisum Homer Christian Hopson Pitts Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Hunter Rios Ybarra Corte Crabb Isett Ritter Craddick Jackson Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Crownover Keffer Sheffield Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Lewis Truitt Eissler Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III England Madden Turner of Harris Farabee Maldonado Vaught Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber Frost McClendon Woolley Gallego McReynolds Zerwas

H.R. No. 231

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 231 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House