RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Walter Pond is planning to retire from his position
- 2 as superintendent of the Rockdale Independent School District
- 3 following the 2008-2009 school year, and in stepping down as
- 4 administrator of the district he will be bringing to a close a
- 5 notable career that has spanned nearly four decades; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mr. Pond began his tenure with Rockdale ISD
- 7 immediately after completing his college studies; he taught as a
- 8 vocational agriculture instructor for 10 years and then
- 9 distinguished himself as an assistant principal, principal, and
- 10 director of maintenance and operations; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In 1988, the superintendent's job became open, and
- 12 Mr. Pond was selected out of 52 candidates by a unanimous vote of
- 13 the district's trustees; in all of the posts he has held over the
- 14 past 38 years, he has earned the respect and admiration of faculty,
- 15 parents, students, and staff; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Superintendent Pond's professionalism and
- 17 commitment to excellence have greatly benefited the residents of
- 18 Rockdale, and he may indeed reflect with pride on the exceptional
- 19 service he has provided to the school district as he prepares to
- 20 embark on the next exciting chapter of his life; now, therefore, be
- 21 it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Walter Pond on his outstanding
- 24 career with the Rockdale Independent School District and extend to

- 1 him sincere best wishes for continued happiness and success; and,
- 2 be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. Pond as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Gattis

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 234 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House