## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jerri Jones stepped down as executive director of
- 2 the Williamson County Children's Advocacy Center in 2008, after
- 3 three years of outstanding service; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Children's Advocacy Center provides assistance
- 5 to abused children and supports those who investigate and prosecute
- 6 child abuse cases; counselors at the center interview suspected
- 7 victims of abuse and offer support and guidance for children and
- 8 non-abusing family members; the center conducted more than 600
- 9 interviews in 2007; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Ms. Jones earned her bachelor's degree in political
- 11 science at Miami University in Ohio; a 20-year veteran of the U.S.
- 12 Marine Corps, she retired as a lieutenant colonel in 1995 and later
- 13 worked for six years as a manager for Solectron Corporation; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In November 2005, Ms. Jones became the executive
- 15 director of the Children's Advocacy Center; under her leadership,
- 16 the center moved into a new, 7,500-square-foot building and
- 17 expanded its services; Ms. Jones also played an instrumental role
- 18 in doubling the staff and nearly doubling the budget, and she sought
- 19 to raise public awareness of the center and its work, speaking
- 20 before community groups and giving regular tours of the facility;
- 21 and
- WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan has significantly advanced the
- 23 mission of the Children's Advocacy Center, and she may indeed
- 24 reflect with pride on the contribution she has made to the welfare

- 1 of children and families in Williamson County; now, therefore, be
- 2 it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Jerri Jones on her exceptional
- 5 tenure as executive director of the Williamson County Children's
- 6 Advocacy Center and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 7 success in the next exciting chapter of her life; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Ms. Jones as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Gattis

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 235 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House