RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Boy Scouts of America is celebrating its 100th
- 2 anniversary on February 8, 2010; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Since its incorporation on that day in 1910, BSA has
- 4 sought to provide an educational program for boys and young men to
- 5 build character, to train in the responsibilities of participating
- 6 citizenship, and to develop personal fitness; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The organization's illustrious history of service
- 8 includes selling Liberty Loan bonds and war savings stamps during
- 9 World War I, collecting food and supplies for the needy during the
- 10 Great Depression, and planting victory gardens and assisting the
- 11 American Red Cross during World War II; more recently, scouts have
- 12 participated in conservation efforts as part of Project SOAR and
- 13 worked to fight hunger, provide shelter, and teach the habits of
- 14 healthy living as part of the Good Turn for America initiative; and
- WHEREAS, In addition to Boy Scouting, BSA has expanded to
- 16 offer such programs as Tiger Cubs, Cub Scouts, Webelos Scouts,
- 17 Varsity Scouting, and Venturing; moreover, through Scoutreach, BSA
- 18 works to ensure that scouting is accessible to both urban and rural
- 19 youth; and
- WHEREAS, The Boy Scouts program unites Americans from all
- 21 walks of life; from conservation to character building, BSA's 100th
- 22 anniversary commemorates the highest scouting ideals of helping
- 23 others and making communities stronger; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Boy Scouts of America on the occasion of
- 2 its centennial and extend to all those associated with this
- 3 exemplary organization sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the BSA as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Gattis

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 236 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House