H.R. No. 243

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 11, 2009, proud residents, business 2 people, and friends of the Richardson community are meeting at the 3 State Capitol for Richardson's Telecom Corridor Legislative Day; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Located just north of Dallas in both Collin and 6 Dallas Counties, Richardson is home to almost 100,000 people and a 7 high concentration of technology and telecommunications firms, as 8 well as financial services firms and corporate headquarters, making 9 it the second largest employment center in North Texas; and

WHEREAS, The collaboration between business and government that characterizes the region is due in large part to the committed efforts of the Richardson Chamber of Commerce and the City of Richardson; assistance from the state's Texas Enterprise Fund and Emerging Technology Fund has also greatly contributed to local economic development initiatives; and

16 WHEREAS, Richardson has been among the most successful cities in the nation at promoting economic development, attracting such 17 internationally renowned companies as Cisco Systems, AT&T, 18 Fujitsu Network Communications, 19 Verizon, Samsung 20 Telecommunications America, Hewlett-Packard, Rockwell Collins, 21 Boeing, and Texas Instruments; at the same time, the city has spawned exciting new companies in the fields of telecommunications, 22 23 nanotechnology, life sciences, software, and semiconductors, garnering over \$2 billion in venture capital investments; in 2006, 24

1

H.R. No. 243

the city received the prestigious "Technology-Led Development
Award" from the International Economic Development Council; and

3 WHEREAS, Richardson's high quality of life makes it an ideal 4 home to modern businesses; in addition to some of the state's best 5 schools and colleges, the city boasts more than 1,000 acres of park 6 space, and the nationally known Wildflower Arts and Music Festival 7 and Cottonwood Art Festival are apt reflections of the area's rich 8 cultural opportunities; and

9 WHEREAS, Richardson is also home to The University of Texas 10 at Dallas, a dynamic public research institution on the cutting 11 edge of science, technology, and medicine; the site of the new \$85 12 million Natural Science and Engineering Research Building, the 13 university is known for its outstanding school of engineering and 14 computer science as well as for its exceptional faculty and staff; 15 and

16 WHEREAS, The Richardson Chamber of Commerce and the area's 17 technology leadership have made Richardson's Telecom Corridor area 18 one of the showpieces of modern Texas, and they can take great pride 19 in their many accomplishments as they look forward to the 20 challenges and opportunities that lie ahead; now, therefore, be it

21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 11, 2009, as Richardson's 23 Telecom Corridor Legislative Day and extend a warm welcome to the 24 area's business and civic leaders visiting the State Capitol.

> Madden Button Kent Vaught

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 243

H.R. No. 243

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 243 was adopted by the House on February 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House