RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The year 2008 marked the 25th anniversary of the
- 2 Museum of Western Art in Kerrville; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Originally known as the Cowboy Artists of America
- 4 Museum, the institution opened in April 1983 and is dedicated to the
- 5 appreciation, presentation, and promotion of the art and artists of
- 6 the American West; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Designed by the noted Southwestern architect O'Neil
- 8 Ford, the museum is housed in a distinctive timber and limestone
- 9 building; inside, the 14,000-square-foot gallery space
- 10 incorporates boveda domes of Mexican brick, mesquite wood, and
- 11 Saltillo tile floors; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The museum exhibits work by today's best-regarded
- 13 Western artists, as well as by celebrated past masters; depictions
- 14 of life in the American West, including cowboys, Native Americans,
- 15 ranchers, frontier men and women, and others, help visitors gain an
- 16 understanding of the region's rich history; and
- WHEREAS, With the opening of the Masel S. Quinn Pavilion of
- 18 the Western Art Academy in 2004 and the Journey West Children's
- 19 Gallery in 2005, the museum expanded its art education program,
- 20 which has trained hundreds of promising artists in applied
- 21 techniques of Western art; in addition, the museum offers an
- 22 extensive 5,000-volume library of Western art and history that has
- 23 proven to be a valuable resource for students and scholars alike;
- 24 and

- 1 WHEREAS, The Museum of Western Art has established itself as
- 2 a cultural treasure of the Texas Hill Country and, through its many
- 3 endeavors, has helped ensure the legacy of the American West for
- 4 many years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Museum
- 7 of Western Art in Kerrville and extend sincere best wishes to the
- 8 museum's staff and supporters for continued success; and, be it
- 9 further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the museum as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Hilderbran

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 249 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House