RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Samantha Tucker, a junior at Westlake High School in
- 2 Austin, has established herself as a swimmer of national stature in
- 3 her age group with her exceptional performances in two competitions
- 4 held in December 2008; and
- 5 WHEREAS, At the USA Swimming Speedo Short Course Junior
- 6 Nationals, held December 11 through 13 in Austin, Ms. Tucker won the
- 7 junior national championship in the 100-yard freestyle, and in so
- 8 doing she set a meet record with her time of 48.71 seconds; in
- 9 addition, she took home the bronze medal in the 500-yard freestyle
- 10 and was a part of three relay teams, including the 400-yard
- 11 freestyle squad that finished third; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Ms. Tucker also made a strong showing at the 2008 USA
- 13 Swimming ConocoPhillips Short Course National Championships, held
- 14 December 4 through 6 in Atlanta, Georgia; competing against former
- 15 Olympians, she set two Texas age-group records, turning in times of
- 16 48.87 seconds in the 100-yard freestyle and 1 minute, 44.54
- 17 seconds, in the 200-yard freestyle; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The notable accomplishments of this highly skilled
- 19 student-athlete are a testament to her hard work and commitment to
- 20 excellence, attributes that will continue to serve her well in the
- 21 years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Samantha Tucker on her outstanding
- 24 achievements in competitive swimming; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Ms. Tucker as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.

Howard of Travis

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 252 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House