RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than 40 years, Shriners Hospitals for 2 Children--Galveston has provided exceptional care to countless children from across the Lone Star State and beyond; and 3 WHEREAS, The Shriners Hospitals system conducts innovative 4 5 research and provides specialized, family-centered care children at no cost at 22 facilities located throughout the United 6 7 States and in Canada and Mexico; the facility in Galveston dates back to the mid-1960s, when the Shriners of North America announced 8 9 the creation of three burn institutes; Dr. Truman Blocker, chief administrative officer of The University of Texas Medical Branch, 10 11 met with representatives from Shriners Hospitals to encourage them 12 to build one of these facilities in Galveston, where hospital staff could work closely with the team at UTMB and join in their efforts 13 14 to improve treatment methods for burn victims; and WHEREAS, Since it opened in 1966, the Shriners Hospitals for 15 16 Children--Galveston has garnered widespread acclaim for comprehensive acute care and reconstructive and rehabilitative 17 18 services; in addition to treating burn injuries and related scarring, this 30-bed pediatric hospital has provided both physical 19 20 and emotional rehabilitation and became a pioneering research and 21 teaching center; recognizing the vital role a family plays in a child's ability to overcome an injury, the staff of Shriners 22 23 Hospitals for Children has implemented a family-centered approach

in which children's loved ones are involved throughout treatment

24

1 and recovery; and

2 WHEREAS, The additional services that the Galveston facility 3 include caregiver training classes, transition assistance, emotional support and counseling, on-site tutoring, 4 5 scar prevention, pain management, music therapy, and special playroom activities; the hospital has also sponsored at least 12 6 outreach clinics annually for the purpose of treating children with 7 8 burn injuries in such locations as New Orleans and Mexico; moreover, the Shriners Hospitals for Children--Galveston has 9 10 maintained its longstanding partnership with UTMB, and with shared facility space, equipment, and clinical and research staff, this 11 12 unique collaboration has led to many significant 13 developments; and WHEREAS, Since the Shriners of North America first made the 14

15 commitment to advance the treatment of burns, a child's chance of surviving these injuries has more than doubled, and their 16 17 facilities have become leaders in this type of care and research; the Galveston hospital has played a major role in these notable 18 achievements, yet the facility has halted its renovation and 19 remains closed after sustaining significant 20 damage during 21 Hurricane Ike in September 2008; although its operations are the Shriners Hospitals for 22 currently suspended, 23 Children--Galveston is worthy of special recognition for 24 exemplary contributions to the field of medicine and to the health and well-being of many children in need; now, therefore, be it 25

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 27 Legislature hereby honor Shriners Hospitals for

- 1 Children--Galveston for its outstanding service throughout the
- 2 past four decades and extend to all those associated with the
- 3 facility sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Shriners Hospitals for Children--Galveston as an
- 6 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Eiland

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 256 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House