RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Municipal courts provide citizens of the Lone Star
- 2 State with a local forum where questions of law and fact can be
- 3 resolved in regard to alleged violations of state law and municipal
- 4 ordinances; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Because citizens come into contact with municipal
- 6 courts more than any other courts, the public impression of the
- 7 Texas judicial system is largely dependent on their experience
- 8 there; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Judges of the municipal courts function also as
- 10 magistrates for the State of Texas, and in that role they perform
- 11 such duties as issuing search and arrest warrants, giving
- 12 magistrate warnings, and setting bail for offenses ranging from
- 13 petty theft to murder; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Pledging to be impartial and to conform to the
- 15 standards set by the Canons of Judicial Conduct, the estimated
- 16 6,000 employees of municipal courts work diligently to ensure the
- 17 fair administration of justice while upholding the rigorous
- 18 standards of professionalism; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Municipal judges, clerks, court administrators,
- 20 bailiffs, and warrant officers continually strive to improve the
- 21 administration of justice through participation in judicial
- 22 education programs, seminars, workshops, and the annual meetings of
- 23 their state and local professional organizations; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Municipal courts in Texas play a vital role in

- 1 preserving public safety, protecting the quality of life for area
- 2 residents, and deterring future criminal behavior, and it is indeed
- 3 fitting to recognize municipal judges and court support personnel
- 4 for their exemplary dedication to the communities they serve; now,
- 5 therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize November 2-6, 2009, as Municipal
- 8 Courts Week and take special note of the important work performed by
- 9 all those associated with the state's municipal courts.

Solomons

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 257 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House