## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the sorrow felt by
- 2 family and friends at the tragic loss of Jacob Daniel Hayes of
- 3 Allen, who died on December 17, 2008, at the age of 24; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Jacob Hayes was born to James Hayes and Bambi Dawn
- 5 Willis Hayes in Plano on July 28, 1984; and
- 6 WHEREAS, This brave and patriotic young man answered his
- 7 nation's call to duty during a time of war, serving in combat in
- 8 Iraq as a lance corporal in Kilo Company, 3rd Battalion, 7th
- 9 Marines, 1st Marine Division; and
- 10 WHEREAS, After returning home to Texas, Mr. Hayes aspired to
- 11 continue serving his community as a firefighter; he had recently
- 12 been accepted into the Collin County Community College Fire
- 13 Academy; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Although his time on this earth was far too brief,
- 15 Jacob Hayes deeply impressed those who knew him with his
- 16 perseverance, humility, compassion, and commitment to service, and
- 17 he will be forever remembered with great affection and admiration;
- 18 now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Jacob Daniel Hayes and
- 21 extend sincere condolences to the members of his family: to his
- 22 parents, James and Bambi Dawn Hayes; to his daughter, Lillie Ruth
- 23 Hayes; to his sisters, Jennifer Power and Julie Hayes-Smith and her
- 24 husband, Kevin; to his brother, James Hayes, and his wife, Kelly; to

- 1 his grandparents, James and Glynda Willis, Suzanne Parten, and
- 2 J. C. and Margaret Hayes; and to his other relatives and friends;
- 3 and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jacob
- 7 Hayes.

Madden

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 263 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 26, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House