RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, First Baptist Church of Killeen is beginning a fresh
- 2 chapter in its proud history with the dedication of its new
- 3 sanctuary in the spring of 2009; and
- WHEREAS, Originally founded in the small town of Palo Alto in
- 5 1873, First Baptist Church moved to Killeen in 1883; the
- 6 congregation met in the community's schoolhouse until a wooden
- 7 tabernacle could be built; and
- 8 WHEREAS, A redbrick sanctuary was constructed at the corner
- 9 of Fourth and Green Streets in 1917 to accommodate the community's
- 10 growing population; the church began to attract members from Fort
- 11 Hood during World War II, and in 1949 the church dedicated a
- 12 separate education building; and
- WHEREAS, In 1955, another sanctuary and an education center
- 14 were built, and these buildings and the original redbrick church
- 15 were joined together by the Welcome Center in 1963; the Clements
- 16 Chapel was dedicated in 1976, replacing the original redbrick
- 17 structure; and
- WHEREAS, Now, under the leadership of Pastor Randall Wallace,
- 19 this dynamic congregation is expanding again into a handsome
- 20 contemporary complex on 20 acres of land, helping the church to
- 21 enhance its prominent position in the community and support its
- 22 many missions overseas; and
- WHEREAS, For more than 125 years, the First Baptist Church
- 24 has played a vital role in the lives of the citizens of Killeen and

- 1 the soldiers of Fort Hood, and the opening of its new facility is a
- 2 fitting opportunity to celebrate the proud legacy and bright future
- 3 of this Killeen institution; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate First Baptist Church of Killeen on
- 6 the dedication of its new sanctuary in 2009 and extend to the church
- 7 best wishes for its continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the congregation of First Baptist Church of Killeen as
- 10 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Aycock

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 275 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House