H.R. No. 291

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Grayson County are gathering in Austin
- 2 on February 10, 2009, to celebrate Grayson County Day at the State
- 3 Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, In partnership with Collin and Denton Counties,
- 5 Grayson County is participating in the first Tri-County Event at
- 6 the State Capitol, which is being held to demonstrate regional
- 7 cooperation in the North Texas area; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Grayson County is named for Peter W. Grayson,
- 9 attorney general of the Republic of Texas; it was formed on March
- 10 17, 1846, by the 1st Texas Legislature, which also specified that
- 11 the county seat be named for Sidney Sherman, a leader at the Battle
- 12 of San Jacinto; as a result, the town of Sherman holds the
- 13 distinction of being one of the few Texas communities named by an
- 14 act of the legislature; and
- WHEREAS, In 1872, the Houston and Texas Central Railroad
- 16 built a rail line to Sherman, and the Missouri-Kansas-Texas
- 17 Railroad reached Denison; these developments brought about a period
- 18 of rapid growth and a dramatic expansion in the county's
- 19 population; new settlements emerged, and today towns in the county
- 20 include Whitesboro, Pottsboro, Bells, Whitewright, Tom Bean, Van
- 21 Alstyne, Howe, Gunter, Dorchester, Tioga, Collinsville,
- 22 Gordonville, Sadler, and Southmayd; the economic development that
- 23 took place in the late 1800s transformed the county into a milling
- 24 and market center for surrounding areas, and in 1891, the world's

- 1 largest cottonseed oil mill was established in Sherman; and
- 2 WHEREAS, In more recent times, the local economy has
- 3 diversified to include a wide range of industries and other
- 4 businesses; the county is home to such commercial giants as Tyson,
- 5 Ruiz Foods, Sunny Delight Beverage Company, MEMC, Emerson Process
- 6 Management, Folgers Coffee Company, Terex, Cigna, Trailblazer
- 7 Healthcare Services, Black and Decker Kwikset, Texas Instruments,
- 8 and Progress Rail Services, a division of Caterpillar; agribusiness
- 9 also continues to thrive, with wheat, corn, and hay as major crops;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Sherman, once called the Athens of Texas, is home to
- 12 Austin College, and the county also offers other first-rate
- 13 educational facilities and resources through its public school
- 14 system and Grayson County College; and
- WHEREAS, Outdoor sports enthusiasts come to Grayson County to
- 16 participate in the many activities offered around Lake Texoma, one
- 17 of the world's largest reservoirs; in Denison, the birthplace of
- 18 Dwight D. Eisenhower, visitors and residents alike enjoy the
- 19 Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Site as well as Eisenhower
- 20 State Park; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Rich in heritage and bountiful in resources, Grayson
- 22 County is a major contributor to the greatness of this state and a
- 23 source of tremendous pride for its residents; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 25 Legislature hereby recognize February 10, 2009, as Grayson County
- 26 Day at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the members of
- 27 the visiting delegation on this noteworthy occasion.

Phillips

## H.R. No. 291

Straus Allen Alonzo	Gattis Geren Giddings	Menendez Merritt Miklos
Alvarado Anchia	Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath
Anderson	Guillen	Moody
Aycock	Gutierrez	Morrison
Berman	Hamilton	Naishtat
Bohac	Hancock	Oliveira
Bolton	Hardcastle	Olivo
Bonnen	Harless	Orr
Branch	Harper-Brown	Ortiz, Jr.
Brown of Kaufman	Hartnett	Otto
Brown of Brazos	Heflin _	Parker
Burnam	Hernandez	Patrick
Button	Herrero	Paxton
Callegari	Hilderbran	Pena
Castro	Hochberg	Phillips
Chavez Chisum	Hodge Homer	Pickett Pierson
Christian		Pitts
Cohen	Hopson Howard of Fort Bend	Quintanilla
Coleman	Howard of Travis	Raymond
Cook	Hughes	Riddle
Corte	Hunter	Rios Ybarra
Crabb	Isett	Ritter
Craddick	Jackson	Rodriguez
Creighton	Jones	Rose
Crownover	Keffer	Sheffield
Darby	Kent	Shelton
Davis of Harris	King of Parker	Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas	King of Taylor	Smith of Harris
Deshotel	King of Zavala	Smithee
Driver	Kleinschmidt	Solomons
Dukes	Kolkhorst	Strama
Dunnam	Kuempel	Swinford
Dutton	Laubenberg	Taylor
Edwards Eiland	Legler Leibowitz	Thibaut
Eissler	Lewis	Thompson Truitt
Elkins	Lucio III	Turner of Tarrant
England	Madden	Turner of Harris
Farabee	Maldonado	Vaught
Farias	Mallory Caraway	Veasey
Farrar	Marquez	Villarreal
Fletcher	Martinez	Vo
Flores	Martinez Fischer	Walle
Flynn	McCall	Weber
Frost	McClendon	Woolley
Gallego	McReynolds	Zerwas

H.R. No. 291

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 291 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House