H.R. No. 294

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to pay
- 2 tribute to Court Appointed Special Advocates for its invaluable
- 3 work on behalf of abused and neglected children and to join Texans
- 4 across the state in recognizing February 18, 2009, as CASA Day at
- 5 the State Capitol; and
- 6 WHEREAS, CASA organizations provide volunteers to be court
- 7 advocates for children removed from their homes due to evidence of
- 8 abuse and neglect; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The more than 5,000 volunteers of CASA have made the
- 10 lives of countless children better through their dedication, hard
- 11 work, and determination; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The child welfare system of our state functions far
- 13 more efficiently due to the efforts of these volunteers and to the
- 14 work of the administrators of the CASA organization; all associated
- 15 with CASA deserve recognition for its many achievements; now,
- 16 therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby commend CASA for its many achievements in aiding
- 19 abused and neglected children and extend best wishes for a
- 20 rewarding CASA Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for this exceptional organization as an expression of high
- 23 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Rose Herrero

H.R. No. 294

Gattis Straus Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Anderson Guillen Moody Aycock Gutierrez Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Hardcastle Bolton Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Harper-Brown Branch Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Pena Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Pierson Chisum Homer Christian Hopson Pitts Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Hunter Rios Ybarra Corte Crabb Isett Ritter Craddick Jackson Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Crownover Keffer Sheffield Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Kuempel Dunnam Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Lewis Truitt Eissler Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III England Madden Turner of Harris Farabee Maldonado Vaught Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores Flynn McCall Weber Frost McClendon Woolley

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

H.R. No. 294

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 294 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House