RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents from Collin County are gathering at the
- 2 State Capitol on February 9-10, 2009, to celebrate Collin County
- 3 Days, and this event provides an opportunity to pay tribute to this
- 4 prosperous area in North Texas; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Once inhabited by the Caddo Indians, the county is
- 6 located almost entirely within the state's Blackland Prairie, a
- 7 region of prime farmland that began attracting settlers in the
- 8 early 1840s; both the county, which was created in 1846, and the
- 9 present county seat, McKinney, which was established in 1849, were
- 10 named in honor of pioneer resident Collin McKinney, a signer of the
- 11 Texas Declaration of Independence; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Today, Collin County encompasses a portion of the
- 13 dynamic Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex; it has experienced one of the
- 14 fastest growth rates in Texas in recent years, and much of its 886
- 15 square miles has been transformed into a bustling urban area; more
- 16 than 750,000 people now make their home in Collin County, with an
- 17 average of 94 new residents arriving each day; and
- WHEREAS, McKinney, one of the county's many booming
- 19 municipalities, boasts a population of nearly 105,000; this
- 20 historic community has been named the second-safest city in Texas
- 21 in its size category by Morgan Quitno Press, ranked 14th among the
- 22 "Best Places to Live" by Money magazine, and recognized as one of
- 23 the "Top 100" places to raise a family by Best Life magazine;
- 24 moreover, the city's Main Street program has been jointly

- 1 recognized by the National Trust for Historic Preservation and the
- 2 Texas Historical Commission; and
- 3 WHEREAS, With a population of more than 260,000, Plano is the
- 4 largest city in the county and a thriving business center; visitors
- 5 to this community can enjoy shops and malls with pleasant amenities
- 6 and a restored downtown square, which features brick sidewalks,
- 7 turn-of-the-century lampposts, and numerous specialty stores,
- 8 galleries, and restaurants; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The city of Allen, home to two especially well-known
- 10 residents, Olympic gold medal-winning gymnast Carly Patterson and
- 11 artist Amanda Dunbar, is yet another fast-growing town; Allen has a
- 12 population of more than 75,000, and its citizens are dedicated to
- 13 the development of a quality community with a top-ranked education
- 14 system, family-oriented residential areas, innovative recreational
- 15 facilities, and premier business developments; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The site now occupied by the city of Frisco was once
- 17 a Native American campground; with the arrival of the railroad in
- 18 the county in the 1870s and the subsequent growth of the area's
- 19 cotton industry, Frisco became a commercial center for farmers and
- 20 ranchers; incorporated in 1902, the town grew slowly until the late
- 21 1980s, when it had a population of 5,000; today that figure stands
- 22 at more than 100,000, and the city serves as a hub of regional and
- 23 international business; Frisco is home to several international
- 24 companies, as well as FC Dallas, a major league soccer team, and the
- 25 Dallas Stars hockey team; the town has also emerged as a vibrant
- 26 arts scene; and
- 27 WHEREAS, Other communities add much to Collin County's

1 allure; Parker is the home of gymnast Nastia Liukin, winner of a 2008 Olympic gold medal, and also the home of Southfork Ranch, the 2 3 filming location for the television series Dallas; Wylie, another great place to call home, numbers 40,000 residents and can claim a 4 5 coveted ISO Class 1 Fire Protection Rating, an outstanding school district, and an annual championship rodeo, as well as significant 6 investments in infrastructure; Celina has gained statewide fame for 7 8 its Bobcats high school football team, which has captured eight state titles; true to its name, the town of Prosper has grown larger 9 10 in recent years and now has excellent access to the Metro area, thanks to the recent opening of a Dallas North Tollway extension; 11 12 the community's residents are especially appreciative of their skilled firefighters and paramedics, whose courage and quick action 13 14 have saved lives; and

15 WHEREAS, Farmersville is the hometown of Audie Murphy, the
16 most decorated American combat soldier of World War II, while the
17 community of Princeton served during that same war as a German
18 prisoner-of-war camp; the city of Murphy celebrated the 50th
19 anniversary of its incorporation on September 27, 2008, though
20 settlement in the area dates back to 1846; Melissa, platted in 1872,
21 is now a leading supplier of building materials; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the foregoing, citizens from the communities of Anna, Blue Ridge, Copeville, Fairview, Josephine, Lavon, Lowry Crossing, Lucas, Nevada, New Hope, St. Paul, Westminster, and Weston, along with parts of Dallas, Garland, Richardson, Royse City, and Sachse, have played an important part in preserving Collin County's rich heritage and contributing to its

- 1 flourishing, diversified economy; and
- 2 WHEREAS, An exemplary educational system is critical to the
- 3 strength of any community, and Forbes magazine has lauded Collin
- 4 County schools for their impressive performance; county residents
- 5 are also proud of their high school athletic programs, which last
- 6 year saw four teams, from Allen, Prosper, Celina, and Wylie,
- 7 compete for state football championships; the Prosper High School
- 8 Eagles took the 2008 Class 3A Division 1 High School Football
- 9 Championship, and the Allen High School Eagles won the 5A Division 1
- 10 Football Championship; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The citizens of this notable North Texas county are
- 12 working to preserve the best of their past even as they look forward
- 13 to a bright and promising future; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby recognize February 9-10, 2009, as Collin County
- 16 Days at the State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes to all
- 17 those Collin County residents who have traveled to Austin for this
- 18 event.

Paxton McCall Madden Laubenberg

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Pena Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 295 was adopted by the House on February 10, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House