RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The face of Texas is rapidly changing, and demographic trends indicate that Hispanics will likely make up a majority of the population within the next decade; as a result, the state is in great need of more certified bilingual teachers, and a program at the University of North Texas is wisely addressing that need; and

WHEREAS, In collaboration with the Texas Higher Education 7 Coordinating Board, UNT is offering the Roberto R. Alonzo 8 Bilingual/ESL Education Scholars Program to provide tuition 9 assistance and loan forgiveness as incentives for students to 10 11 pursue certification programs in bilingual or ESL education; 12 covering tuition, fees, and a small book allowance, the scholarships are available for up to 25 students and provide a total 13 14 of \$300,000 in funding to junior and senior education students at UNT; and 15

WHEREAS, Students enrolled in this program must maintain at least a 2.75 grade point average, meet financial aid requirements, dedicate the majority of their classes to early childhood to fourth-grade level bilingual or ESL courses, as well as agree to teach full-time as a certified teacher in early childhood through fourth-grade bilingual or ESL classes at a public school in Texas for five years; and

WHEREAS, Equipping future teachers with fluency in the Spanish language that will facilitate the delivery of content in

- 1 the classroom as well as encouraging respect and appreciation of
- 2 linguistic and cultural differences are important priorities of the
- 3 UNT program, and student participants may not only take pride in the
- 4 fact that they will be in high demand on graduation but also that
- 5 they are providing a service that is vital to the future of our
- 6 state by attending to the needs of the growing population of
- 7 Spanish-speaking schoolchildren; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby honor participants in the University of North
- 10 Texas Roberto R. Alonzo Bilingual/ESL Education Scholars Program
- 11 for 2009 and commend them for their commitment and dedication to the
- 12 children of Texas.

Alonzo

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Hilderbran Callegari Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 298 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House