RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Each year on September 16, Mexicans and Hispanics of
- 2 Mexican descent celebrate Mexico's independence from Spain,
- 3 recalling the historic events of that day in 1810; and
- WHEREAS, Diez y Seiz de Septiembre marks the beginning of the
- 5 revolution that occurred after years of oppressive rule by Spain;
- 6 Catholic priest and national hero Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla touched
- 7 off the long-simmering rebellion when he ordered the arrest of
- 8 native Spaniards in the town of Dolores and encouraged the
- 9 indigenous peoples of Mexico to overthrow the brutal Spanish
- 10 regime; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Today, Father Hidalgo is revered as the father of
- 12 Mexican independence, and his patriotic heroism continues to
- 13 inspire oppressed people of all nationalities; the legacy of this
- 14 remarkable man and his message of solidarity evoke heartfelt
- 15 feelings of pride and patriotism among those who celebrate this
- 16 momentous historical event; and
- 17 WHEREAS, El Grito de Independencia, or the "Shout of
- 18 Independence," is on the lips of those who pay homage to the courage
- 19 and perseverance of Father Hidalgo and his unlikely band of
- 20 revolutionaries, and the defiant, yet hopeful cry of "Mexicanos,
- 21 Viva Mexico" is uttered in proud tribute to their memory; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize Diez y Seiz de Septiembre, 2009, and

- 1 pay tribute to the many native Mexicans who gave their lives in the
- 2 quest for freedom and independence.

Alonzo

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber

McClendon

McReynolds

Woolley

Zerwas

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 299 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House