H.R. No. 309

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In April of each year, National Crime Victims' 2 Rights Week is sponsored by criminal justice and victim service 3 practitioners as an occasion to publicize and affirm the rights of 4 those who suffer as victims of violent crime; and

5 WHEREAS, During this week, many public education and 6 community awareness activities are sponsored to help the citizens 7 of Texas understand the experience of crime victims and to learn 8 about the many critical services available to those who fall prey to 9 criminal offenders; and

10 WHEREAS, Violent crime affects the lives of countless Texans 11 each year, and it is crucial that all citizens be fully aware of 12 their legal rights and the full range of services available to crime 13 victims, for only in this way can the criminal justice system secure 14 the rights of the innocent as well as the guilty; and

15 WHEREAS, It is entirely fitting that the Texas House of 16 Representatives lend its full support to this worthy observance and 17 make every effort to promote greater awareness of crime victims' 18 rights in every jurisdiction of this state; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 20 Legislature hereby commend the many dedicated professionals and 21 volunteers who are working to secure rights and services for the 22 victims of crime and urge all Texans to observe the week of April 26 23 through May 2, 2009, as National Crime Victims' Rights Week.

Alonzo

1

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Straus

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 309

H.R. No. 309

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 309 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House