H.R. No. 313

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For the past 22 years, citizens of Grand Prairie 2 have taken part in an annual Cinco de Mayo celebration that has 3 become a treasured tradition in the community among people of every 4 ethnic heritage, and in the year 2009, the city's residents will 5 once again join together for this notable occasion; and

6 WHEREAS, Sponsored by a number of local businesses and 7 organizations, the event pays tribute to this significant date in 8 history while positively impacting the lives of area students 9 through the donation of scholarship funds; and

10 WHEREAS, This year's celebration would not be possible 11 without the hard work and dedication of its notable Cinco de Mayo 12 Committee of Grand Prairie members, who once again have set as their 13 goal making this popular event the best ever; and

WHEREAS, Cinco de Mayo commemorates the stunning victory achieved by Mexican troops over an invading French army at the battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862; led by General Ignacio Zaragoza Seguin, an untrained militia of some 4,500 Mexicans routed 6,500 French soldiers, considered to be among the best military troops in the world; and

20 WHEREAS, In celebrating Cinco de Mayo, we honor the ideals of 21 freedom and self-determination and the willingness to take on 22 seemingly overwhelming odds in behalf of a worthwhile cause, and it 23 is a pleasure to join the citizens of Grand Prairie in observing 24 this proud day in Mexican history, a day whose significance

1

H.R. No. 313

continues to speak to people around the world; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby recognize the 22nd annual Cinco de Mayo
Celebration in Grand Prairie and extend to all those involved
sincere best wishes for a memorable event.

Alonzo

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 313

H.R. No. 313

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 313 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House