H.R. No. 315

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Each year on September 16, Mexicans and Hispanics of
 Mexican descent celebrate Mexico's independence from Spain,
 recalling the historic events of that day in 1810; and

WHEREAS, Diez y Seiz de Septiembre marks the beginning of the revolution that occurred after years of oppressive rule by Spain; Catholic priest and national hero Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla touched off the long-simmering rebellion when he ordered the arrest of native Spaniards in the town of Dolores and encouraged the indigenous peoples of Mexico to overthrow the brutal Spanish regime; and

11 WHEREAS, Today, Father Hidalgo is revered as the father of 12 Mexican independence, and his patriotic heroism continues to 13 inspire oppressed people of all nationalities; the legacy of this 14 remarkable man and his message of solidarity evoke heartfelt 15 feelings of pride and patriotism among those who celebrate this 16 momentous historical event; and

WHEREAS, El Grito de Independencia, or the "Shout of Independence," is on the lips of those who pay homage to the courage and perseverance of Father Hidalgo and his unlikely band of revolutionaries, and the defiant, yet hopeful cry of "Mexicanos, Viva Mexico" is uttered in proud tribute to their memory; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
 Legislature hereby recognize Diez y Seiz de Septiembre, 2010, and

1

H.R. No. 315
1 pay tribute to the many native Mexicans who gave their lives in the
2 quest for freedom and independence.

Alonzo

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 315

H.R. No. 315

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 315 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House