## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership 2 School is commemorating in the 2009-2010 school year its sixth year 3 of providing an outstanding education to area youth, and this 4 occasion provides a welcome opportunity to recognize the school as 5 well as its namesake, the Honorable Irma Rangel; and

6 WHEREAS, Opened in the Oak Lawn neighborhood of Dallas in the 7 fall of 2004, the Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School 8 is a magnet program of the Dallas Independent School District; it is 9 the first all-girls public school in Dallas and part of a move that 10 allows educators to focus on the different ways boys and girls 11 learn; and

12 WHEREAS, Through leadership seminars, weekly advisory and partnerships with 13 meetings, educational and cultural 14 organizations, the Dallas school provides students with a rigorous course of study that prepares them for college and addresses their 15 developmental needs; teachers work with students following a 16 project-oriented curriculum that emphasizes math, science, and 17 technology, but also offers ample learning opportunities in foreign 18 languages and humanities; in addition to providing an excellent 19 20 academic curriculum, the school encourages students to develop a 21 strong sense of ethics and civic responsibility and to become leaders in their community; and 22

23 WHEREAS, It is fitting that such an admirable and progressive 24 institution be named for Irma Rangel, who was a trailblazer and one

1

of the leading proponents of the state's efforts to improve public school and higher education systems; Ms. Rangel taught for 14 years in Texas, California, and Venezuela before changing careers and earning a degree at St. Mary's School of Law in San Antonio; after working as an assistant district attorney for two years in Corpus Christi, she returned to her hometown of Kingsville in 1973 to open her own law practice; and

8 WHEREAS, When Ms. Rangel won a seat in the house of representatives in 1976, she became the first Hispanic woman 9 10 elected to the Texas Legislature; she spent more than 26 years in the Texas House and was the fifth most-senior member of this body at 11 12 the time of her death in 2003; while serving in the house, she sponsored legislation establishing a pharmacy school for Texas A&M 13 14 University--Kingsville, now known as the Irma Lerma Rangel College 15 of Pharmacy; and

16 WHEREAS, The first Mexican American woman to be appointed 17 chair of a house committee, Representative Rangel was named chair 18 of the House Committee on Higher Education in 1995, and she served 19 in that role for four consecutive legislative sessions; she was 20 also the first woman elected chair of the Mexican American 21 Legislative Caucus and the first Mexican American to receive the 22 G. J. Sutton Award from the Legislative Black Caucus; and

WHEREAS, A passionate advocate for the poor, the needy, and the underserved, Irma Rangel was a true Texas pioneer who worked tirelessly to make a college education accessible to all citizens, and it is indeed appropriate that an important part of her legacy lies with the outstanding young women who are attending the school

2

1 that bears her name; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the rich and accomplished life of the Honorable Irma Rangel and honor the students of the Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School on the sixth anniversary of the opening of the school; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Alonzo

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

## H.R. No. 319

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 319 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House