RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Americans of Mexican descent have made many
- 2 contributions to this country, as members of the military and other
- 3 professions and as productive citizens in their communities; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The American Mexican Movement, a nonprofit
- 5 organization, was founded by Pedro "Pete" Garcia on July 6, 1994, in
- 6 Flint, Michigan, for the purpose of researching and documenting the
- 7 lifestyles of American Mexicans and educating the public about the
- 8 positive roles they have played in our society; and
- 9 WHEREAS, To provide a symbol that would represent the
- 10 identity of these Americans, the American Mexican Culture flag was
- 11 created; it was raised for the first time in the nation on July 23,
- 12 1994, and introduced in Texas on July 23, 2006; and
- WHEREAS, Americans of Mexican descent have significantly
- 14 enriched the vibrant mosaic of peoples and cultures that make up our
- 15 country, and it is indeed fitting that tribute be paid to this proud
- 16 and patriotic body of citizens; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize July 24, 2010, as American Mexican Day
- 19 and encourage all Texans to join in celebrating this special
- 20 occasion.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 320

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Paxton Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Martinez Fletcher Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

H.R. No. 320

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 320 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House