RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, April 9, 2010, will mark the fourth anniversary of
- 2 the Dallas Mega March for American Values and Justice; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The largest public protest in the city's history,
- 4 the Mega March drew between 350,000 and 500,000 participants who
- 5 joined together in support of immigration reform; and
- 6 WHEREAS, This powerful but peaceful gathering was sponsored
- 7 by LULAC and a coalition of Dallas-area groups, and it was attended
- 8 by throngs of people who trod the mile-long parade route in the
- 9 city's downtown; wearing white and carrying signs and American
- 10 flags, marchers highlighted the positive economic impact that
- 11 immigrants have on the U.S. economy and promoted changes that would
- 12 allow foreign workers an easier means of gaining legal status and
- 13 citizenship; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Taking place at a crucial time in the nation's
- 15 history, the Dallas event was part of a series of rallies that
- 16 occurred across the country as federal lawmakers considered
- 17 immigration reform; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The Mega March offered further proof that concerned
- 19 Texans, Hispanics and non-Hispanics alike, were committed to
- 20 voicing their opinions in the immigration debate; that spirit of
- 21 civic involvement remains strong, and it continues to influence
- 22 ongoing discussions about a range of important issues, thereby
- 23 strengthening the vital traditions of free speech and political
- 24 activism in the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the fourth anniversary of the Dallas
- 3 Mega March for American Values and Justice on April 9, 2010, and pay
- 4 tribute to all those who planned and took part in that historic
- 5 event.

Alonzo

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 321 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House