RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 honor the Dallas Association for Bilingual Education (DABE) on its outstanding record of service to the people of this state in 3 enhancing the quality of education provided for the children of the 4 5 community and ensuring the equality of educational opportunity available to all segments of the community's diverse population; 6 7 and

WHEREAS, Recognizing the special educational needs 8 schoolchildren with limited English-speaking ability and committed 9 addressing those needs, concerned members of the Dallas 10 11 education community founded this organization 12 bilingual, multicultural programs of instruction in the Dallas Independent School District and other school districts in the North 13 14 Texas Metroplex area; and

WHEREAS, Underlying the programs and methods advocated by the association is the fundamental premise that equality of educational opportunity can be achieved through bilingual education without sacrificing the equally important goal of academic excellence; and

15

16

17

24

18 WHEREAS, By promoting bilingual education and multicultural 19 programs for every student, the association hopes not only to 20 provide a quality education for students with limited English 21 proficiency but also to instill in all schoolchildren 22 an 23 appreciation of the contributions made by every group in an ethnically and culturally diverse society; and

- WHEREAS, Since 1986, DABE has been affiliated with the Texas 1 Association for Bilingual Education and has been active 2 statewide efforts to address relevant issues at the state and national level as well as at the local level; since joining forces 4 5 with the state organization, the Dallas association has greatly expanded its reach, increasing its ability to serve as an 6 educational resource, to provide training for teachers operating in 7 8 a bilingual classroom environment, and to take a multifaceted, comprehensive approach in furthering its objectives; and 9
- 10 WHEREAS, Appreciative of its valuable service to the state 11 over the years, this legislative body wishes to take advantage of 12 the 2010 installation of DABE officers to bestow on the association 13 the praise and recognition it so richly deserves; now, therefore, 14 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

 Legislature hereby honor the Dallas Association for Bilingual

 Education in 2010 on its outstanding record of service to the

 community and its noteworthy dedication to its goal of improving

 the quality of education provided to all the people of this state;

 and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the association as an expression of high esteem by the 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Alonzo

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 322 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House