## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Americans across the country will pause on March 31, 2 2010, Cesar Chavez Day, to pay tribute to the inspiring life and achievements of the founder and longtime leader of the United Farm 3 Workers of America (UFW), AFL-CIO, on the anniversary of his birth; 4 5 and 6 WHEREAS, Born in 1927 near Yuma, Arizona, and later raised in 7 California, Mr. Chavez spent much of his youth as a migrant laborer; as a Latino and a farmworker, he learned firsthand about the 8 9 indignities of second-class citizenship and the unhealthy working and living conditions endured by those who tended the fields; and 10 11 WHEREAS, After serving in the U.S. Navy from 1944 to 1946, 12 Cesar Chavez returned to California, and in 1948 he married Helen Fabela; four years later he became a community organizer for the 13 14 Community Service Organization (CSO), a Latino civil rights group that focused most of its work in urban areas, and by the late 1950s 15 he had become its national director; and 16

WHEREAS, When in 1962 the CSO declined to organize California 17 farmworkers, Mr. Chavez and his colleague Dolores Huerta left the 18 organization to found the National Farm Workers Association, a 19 forerunner of the UFW; their fledgling union gained national 20 prominence just three years later when it came to the support of 21 workers who were striking against California's grape growers; in 22 23 addition to assuming leadership of the strike, Mr. Chavez launched a successful, nationwide consumers' boycott of nonunion grapes; and 24

1 WHEREAS, By the end of the five-year-long strike, the UFW had organized all of the California table-grape industry and negotiated 2 3 the first collective bargaining agreements between American farmworkers and corporations; in 1975 Cesar Chavez and the UFW 4 5 further succeeded in securing the passage of California's Agricultural Labor Relations Act, the first law in U.S. history 6 farmworkers the right to unionize 7 and 8 collectively; numerous other gains achieved under his leadership included the establishment of a farmworkers' medical plan, pension 9 10 plan, and credit union, as well as the National Farm Workers Service Center, Inc., whose projects include the development of affordable 11 12 housing, health clinics, cooperatives, and a retirement home; and WHEREAS, Over the course of his life, Cesar Chavez sought to 13 14 advance La Causa, the movement, through nonviolent means--through 15 strikes, pickets, and boycotts; on several occasions he also undertook lengthy fasts to draw 16 public attention to the farmworkers' struggle; and 17 WHEREAS, Mr. Chavez continued to lead the UFW until his death 18 on April 23, 1993; more than 50,000 people from throughout the

on April 23, 1993; more than 50,000 people from throughout the nation gathered to mourn him at his funeral, indicative of the far-reaching impact he had made on American society; and

WHEREAS, Since that time, numerous schools, streets, scholarships, monuments, buildings, and parks have been named in his memory, a number of U.S. cities have initiated annual celebrations in tribute to his life, and several states, including Texas, have declared his birthday, March 31, a state holiday; in 1994 Mr. Chavez was posthumously awarded the nation's highest

- 1 honor, the Presidential Medal of Freedom; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Cesar Chavez chose to devote his life to the pursuit
- 3 of social and economic justice through nonviolent means, and his
- 4 courage and steadfastness in this great work brought improved
- 5 health, greater security, and hope for a brighter future to
- 6 countless people; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby honor the life of Cesar E. Chavez and join the
- 9 citizens of the Lone Star State in commemorating the birth of this
- 10 revered American.

Alonzo

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores McCall Flynn Weber Frost Woolley McClendon

Zerwas

McReynolds

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 324 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House