RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Oak Cliff, the venerable community on the south bank
- 2 of the Trinity River, marks the 107th anniversary of its annexation
- 3 to Dallas on March 17, 2010; and
- WHEREAS, Originally known as Hord's Ridge, Oak Cliff traces
- 5 its roots to the 1845 arrival of the William H. Hord family and to
- 6 the farming community that subsequently grew in the vicinity; in
- 7 the 1880s the area of Hord's Ridge was bought by Thomas Marsalis and
- 8 John Armstrong, who dreamed of creating an exclusive residential
- 9 development there and who gave the site its present name; and
- 10 WHEREAS, After the pair successfully launched the sale of
- 11 lots, Thomas Marsalis gained control of the project and undertook
- 12 several ventures to add to the new town's attractiveness; these
- 13 included the introduction of a steam-powered railway to connect the
- 14 development with downtown Dallas, the establishment of a 150-acre
- 15 park, now known as Marsalis Park and Zoo, and the erection of a fine
- 16 hotel featuring several mineral baths; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Oak Cliff enjoyed a period of favor as an upscale
- 18 residential and resort community before the depression of 1893
- 19 drove Mr. Marsalis into bankruptcy; a number of lots once owned by
- 20 his company were then subdivided and sold; and
- 21 WHEREAS, In 1903, after rejecting several overtures from
- 22 Dallas and still struggling with a sluggish economy, Oak Cliff
- 23 voters finally agreed to annexation to their larger neighbor;
- 24 development over the next several decades included hundreds of

- 1 modest homes as well as the grand residences of Kessler Park; and
- WHEREAS, Set on rolling hills a few miles from downtown
- 3 Dallas, Oak Cliff today is home to a broadly inclusive population,
- 4 with residents representing a variety of ethnic and cultural groups
- 5 and economic backgrounds; and
- WHEREAS, These citizens are acting through a number of organizations, such as the Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce, Old Oak Cliff Conservation League, Oak Cliff Foundation, and various
- 9 neighborhood groups, to promote the preservation and
- 10 revitalization of their community; their efforts have figured
- 11 prominently in the rebirth of Jefferson Boulevard, West Davis
- 12 Street, and Fort Worth Avenue, in the renovation of the historic
- 13 Texas Theater, and in the flowering of the Bishop Arts District; and
- WHEREAS, Members of close-knit communities within the larger
- 15 embrace of Oak Cliff, the residents of this unique section of Dallas
- 16 are holding fast to their rich history while forging an ever
- 17 brighter and more promising future; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby congratulate the citizens of Oak Cliff on the
- 20 107th anniversary of their community's annexation to Dallas and
- 21 extend to them sincere best wishes as they build on their notable
- 22 heritage.

Alonzo

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Miklos Alonzo Gonzales Miller of Comal Alvarado Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Howard of Travis Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Kleinschmidt Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 328 was adopted by the House on February 26, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House